Friends and Foundation of the Arlington Public Library


Most libraries exist because of funding from public sources, but it is private funds that make the difference between “good” and “great” library systems. As a non-profit 501(c)(3) organization, the Friends and Foundation of the Arlington Public Library provides a source of financial assistance to the Arlington Public Library through the solicitation of tax-deductible contributions from private sources. Our goal is to provide an outstanding library for the people of Arlington.

History of the Friends & Foundation

Originally, there were two nonprofit support organizations – the Friends of the Arlington Public Library (established in 1986) and the Arlington Public Library Foundation (established in 1993). The Friends held semi-annual book sales and Book & Author Luncheons and the Foundation raised funds primarily through grants, events, and direct mail solicitations. Because of their similar goals to support the Library System, the two groups merged October 2016 to form the Friends & Foundation.


  1. Bring together people who share an interest in libraries
  2. Promote public awareness and community support for the Library system
  3. Encourage gifts and fundraising activities that benefit the Arlington Public Library System

Become a Member

Show your support of the Arlington Public Library by joining the Friends and Foundation. Memberships start at just $20 annually. Benefits include:

  • The Bookcase Newsletter
  • Discounts and special Members Only admission to the Spring and Fall
  • Book Sale
  • Volunteer Opportunities
  • Book & Author Spring and Fall
  • Luncheons
  • Invitation to the Annual Meeting and Dinner

“We handle refunds on a case-by-case basis. If you have questions about your donation or would like a refund, email us at”


Gifts large and small, restricted and unrestricted are graciously accepted. Donations to the Foundation are tax-deductible to the extent allowed by law and gifts provide tax benefits to donors while offering exciting growth opportunities for the Arlington Public Library System. Learn about your options for monetary donations.

Book & Author Event

Join us on Friday, April 21 at 7:00 at the George W Hawkes Downtown Library for An Evening with Tim Madigan. In a journalism career spanning more than three decades, Tim has written for the Washington Post, Chicago Tribune, Politico, Reader’s Digest, and for thirty years the Fort Worth Star-Telegram. At this event, Tim will share a presentation entitled, “Mister Rogers, the Tulsa Race Massacre of 1921 and the Power of Story.” Books will be available for purchase and signing.

Mailing Address

300 East South Street #159
Arlington, TX 76004


FFAPL Treasurer

Upcoming Events

March 29- April 2, 2023

Spring 2023 Book Sale
Meadowbrook Recreational Center

Friends and Foundation Board Members

Friends and Foundation of the Arlington Public Library’s Fiscal operating year is October to September and the full board meets monthly, on the 3rd Thursday of each month at 5:30 p.m. Members of the Board serve three-year terms. A director who has served for two full consecutive three-year terms may not be reappointed until one year has elapsed after the end of his or her second consecutive three-year term. New or successor directors are elected by the Board of Directors at the first meeting of the fiscal year.

Friends and Foundation of the Arlington Public Library’s officers include a Chair, Vice Chair, Immediate Past Chair, Secretary, and Treasurer. They are elected by the Board of Directors at the Board of Directors’ first meeting of the fiscal year. Officers may serve up to four consecutive one-year terms in the same office. When the Chair has completed his or her term in that office, he or she will serve as Immediate Past Chair.

Current Board Members

  • Claire Alexander
  • Susan Barker, Membership Chair
  • Mike Becknal, Treasurer
  • Terry Bertrand
  • Charles Goodyear
  • Chris Kerr
  • Martha Kinard
  • Patty Kirby
  • Emily Klophaus, Vice Chair
  • Heather Lowe, Chair
  • Tiffany Mann
  • Lydia McKinney
  • Toni Najjar
  • Ben Parsons
  • Diana Saleh
  • Lori Urso
  • Polly Walton, Immediate Past Chair
  • Kari Williams, Secretary